Belper and District Quiz League

Home Current Season Useful Info Past Seasons Contact Us Sponsors

Past Seasons Summary Former Members League History Gallery Roll of Honour Other Events

Past Seasons League History

History of the league

The Belper and District Quiz league was formed in 1988 by Dick Baker and Denis Seagrave. At the time they were members of the Greyhound pub quiz team who competed in the Wednesday night Derbyshire Pub Quiz league. Their idea was to form a league specifically for the Belper area as a number of pubs were either entering brewery-sponsored leagues or holding their own in-house weekly quizzes. Having canvassed the local area 9 sides came forward to contest the inaugural season of 1988-1989, these being: (We are not 100% sure on this list so please let us know if you can prove differently.)


Greyhound A & B


Railway (Shottle)

Glow Worm Social Club

Hilltop A & B

Imperial Vaults

Cross Keys



The first league season was dominated by the Hilltop teams as the B team won the league and beer league and the Hilltop A beat their B team counterparts in a thrilling final that was decided on a 2nd tie-break question.

Hilltop B' receiving the first league trophy. Presented by Phil Varney of SPC Sports


The Hilltop went on to dominate the early years of the league as the B team won the league title for the first 4 seasons and for the first 3 seasons they never lost a single league game. They also won the cup in the 2nd and 3rd seasons as well as the beer league title in the first two seasons. The Hilltop A continued the pub's dominance as they won the league title for the next 3 seasons.


Their strangle hold was eventually broken when the Greyhound won the beer league title in season 1990-91. As new sides began to enter the league they too made an impact with The Wheel Inn from Holbrook winning the knockout cup and the beer league in 1992.


As the league expanded a second division was introduced in season 1992-93 and was won for the first time by the Horse and Jockey.